When you use Uber on your iOS device as a rider, you'll see contextual dialogs asking you to approve certain permissions that the app requests. Allowing these permissions will ensure you have the best possible experience with Uber, but you'll have the choice to opt out of each iOS permission on an individual basis. (If you're an Android user, please see our Android App Permissions.)
To make sure you understand what features we access and what data we collect through these iOS permissions, we've provided a more detailed breakdown and discussion of the permissions below. You can edit your Uber permissions anytime by going into the Settings app on your device.
You'll see this dialog during the registration process. If you opt in, the app will collect and send precise location data to Uber's servers. We use that data to personalize your experience; to display trip history in your receipts; to facilitate driver selection and pickup; to determine what products, promotions, and surveys are relevant to you; to use for analytics purposes at an aggregated level; and to customize and improve the location-based services we provide. We may cache your last known location to speed up the launch process, but we will not store a history of your location to persistent memory on the device.
If you opt out, you can still use Uber, but you'll have to manually enter your pickup address every time before you can see what options are available in your city.
You'll see this dialog when you attempt to add an existing photo to your Uber user profile. If you don't allow the app access to Photos, you can still select to take a new photo for your Uber user profile by allowing the Uber app to access your phone's Camera.